Skip Navigation

Radiation and Cancer Biology
Lawrence Lab

Lawrence_TedTed Lawrence, MD, PhD:
Isadore Lampe Professor and Department Chair

The Lawrence laboratory can be found at Rm 4310 of the Medical Science I Building of the UM Medical School. We are part of the Cancer Biology division of the Radiation Oncology Department. Our lab operates in conjunction with the laboratories of Meredith Morgan, Mukesh Nyati, and Dipankar Ray. We also have a long-term collaboration with the laboratory of Jonathan Maybaum in the Pharmacology Department and interaction with the Feng and Speers laboratories in the Radiation Oncology Department. We do primarily translational research in the general area of radiosensitizers and radioprotectors. Within that framework are projects involving inhibitors of cell cycle checkpoints as radiosensitizers (Morgan lab), mechanistic studies involving gemcitabine, investigations of tyrosine kinase inhibitors as radiosensitizers in vivo and in vitro as well as the role of EGFR signaling in the response to therapy (Nyati lab). The Ray lab is seeking to understand the molecular alterations during radiation-induced lung toxicity and identifying new therapeutic targets for thoracic cancers.

Our laboratory also manages the Experimental Irradiation Core of the UM Cancer Center. David Karnak is the contact person for information about the core.


Cell Survival Protocol
H2AX Flow Cytometry Protocol
Serum-free Media
Staining for BrdUrd with PI+FITC

Back to top


  1. Selected PubMed article listing

Lab Members

Back to top