Role Specific Advancement

Welcome to the UMHS Role Specific Advancement Model
! This website was designed for all nurses within
the 4 Role Specific Classifications, including:

• Clinical Care Coordinator
• Educational Nurse Coordinator
• Flight Nurse Specialist
• RN Case Manager

Quick Link: 
Performance Evaluations


You, as a Role Specific Nurse, are invited to use this site to better understand the Role Specific Advancement Model, also known as “RSAM”.  It is up to you whether you choose to apply for advancement in our model, but you are encouraged to consider this opportunity.  The Role Specific Advancement Model provides recognition and reward for the powerful work you do each and every day at Michigan Medicine.

WHAT’S NEW:  We are excited to announce two new levels in the Professional Development Framework and Role Specific Advancement Model (RSAM) for nurses with a master’s degree:

  1. Level F for Framework
  2. Mastery Plus for RSAM


As you consider applying for advancement:

All nurses applying for advancement in the Professional Development Framework & Role Specific Advancement Model are asked to “Declare their intent to apply” (per Contract Language). If you have any questions, please contact us or email directly.

A RSAM coach is available. She is prepared to assist you with your application process, including portfolio elements as well as getting ready for your interview with the Central Committee review panel. Please access the coach by emailing To read more about our coach process, please go to the Coach section on the Tools & Resources page.

Click arrow for more information.

The Role Specific Advancement Model: From Initial Development to the Present

Within the contract negotiations, 2004, the UMHS Professional Development Framework was created for all staff nurses interested in professional advancement in their roles. The Role Specific Nurses, because of their unique roles and responsibilities, were addressed by the following language: “Further discussion will occur as to whether and how employees in the pay grade N-3, such as Flight Nurses and Practice Management Coordinators, could or should be included in the Professional Development Framework Model”.

Following implementation of the Professional Development Framework in 2006, an assessment of the four role specific titles was undertaken. This assessment confirmed the perspective that the work of the Role Specific nurses was not sufficiently described in the Framework Behaviors.  The Domains, Subheadings, and Behaviors that were developed during Fall 2007 moved through Negotiations 2008 with minimal revision. The behaviors reflecting leadership/contribution and "off the unit" contributions were reordered and bolded for improved clarity. The teams agreed that advancement would be made based on a preponderance of evidence of all behaviors in total,rather than within each domain. In 2014 the Practice Management Coordinator behaviors were retired as the new "RN Case Manager" role behaviors were under development. In February 2015 the new RN Case Manager behaviors were approved by the Joint Implementation Team and put in place so that nurses in this role would be given the opportunity to advance.



Contact Us

We invite your thoughts, feedback, questions and comments related to the Professional Development Framework and Role Specific Advancement Model! 

Please contact Mary Anne Brancheau, BSN, RN-BC at
(734) 232-1091 or email

Our Framework/RSAM Office Location
University of Michigan Health System
Professional Development and Education
300 N. Ingalls St.
6th Floor B Wing, Rm. 6B04
Ann Arbor, MI. 48109-5436

Thank you!














Target Audience: UMHS Nursing | Author/Contact: Mary Anne Brancheau

Web Publisher/Designer/Developer: April Stingo | Reviewed: 02/22/2018