Skip Navigation

Outstanding Clinician Award

Outstanding Clinician Award

The Dean’s Office is soliciting nominations for the Outstanding Clinician Award.  This award recognizes the exemplary performance of a practicing clinician or program leader of innovation in clinical care. Examples include outstanding service as a medical director of a clinical program, development of clinical care management programs or new care models, leading the development of evidence-based practice guidelines or an institutional quality improvement initiative This award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize for the faculty member or group.

This will be a two-stage selection process.  Nominations submitted to the selection committee will be reviewed and a list of potential awardees given to the Dean of the Medical School.  The Dean will make the final selection. 

Nominees must be faculty of the University of Michigan Medical School.

Nominations must include the following:

  1. Completed nomination form.
  2. A letter of nomination (maximum 5 pages).
  3. Up to three letters of support from faculty colleagues.
  4. A copy of each nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Send complete nomination packet by Wednesday, May 1, 2013 to:

David Spahlinger, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs
4101 Medical Science Building I, SPC 5624



2012 Sybil Biermann, M.D., Steven E. Gradwohl, M.D., Khaled Hafez, M.D., Douglas J. Quint, M.D., & Cosmas J.M. Vandeven, M.D.
2011 Dennis C. Crowley, M.D., Paul L. Fine, M.D., James A Goulet, M.D., Mark B. Orringer, M.D. & Wendy L. Wahl, M.D.
2010 Mark A. Helvie, M.D., Jeffrey L. Myers, M.D., Michelle B. Riba, M.D., & Marjorie C. Treadwell, M.D.
2009 Eric R. Bates, M.D., Grace H. Elta, M.D. & Paul L. Sonda, III, M.D.
2008 Steven R. Buchman, M.D. & Timothy T. Nostrant, M.D.
2007 G. Michael Deeb, M.D., Mark A. McQuillan, M.D. & B. Gregory Thompson, M.D.
2006 Kenneth J. Pituch, M.D., Larry R. Junck, M.D. & Barry H. Gross, M.D.
2005 William J. McCune, M.D. & John E. McGillicuddy, M.D.
2004 Harry Erba, M.D. & Norah Naughton, M.D.
2003 William Chandler, M.D., Kim Eagle, M.D. & Linda Selwa, MD.
2002 Margie Andreae, M.D. & Timothy Johnson, M.D.
2001James F. Peggs, M.D. & Powell Kazanjian, M.D.