Skip Navigation

Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education

The Dean’s Office is soliciting nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education.  This award recognizes truly outstanding faculty educators who are making exceptional contributions to medical education; thus, this may not be awarded every year. The award honors lifetime achievement in all of our education programs including M.D., Ph.D., postdoctoral and residency training, and carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize for the faculty member.

This will be a two-stage selection process.  Nominations submitted to the selection committee will be reviewed and a list of potential awardees given to the Dean of the Medical School.  The Dean will make the final selection.

Nominees must be faculty of the University of Michigan Medical School.

Nominations must include the following:

  1. Completed nomination form.
  2. A letter of nomination (maximum 5 pages).
  3. Up to three letters of support from faculty colleagues.
  4. A copy of each nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Send complete nomination packet by Wednesday, May 1, 2013 to:

Joseph Kolars, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Education and Global Initiatives
Medical School Dean's Office
4122 Med Sci I, SPC, 5624


2012 Douglas J. Gelib, M.D., Ph.D.
2011 Bernard Agranoff, M.D., Ph.D. & N. Cary Engelberg, M.D., D.T.M.H.
2010 Carol A. Kauffman, M.D.
2009 Thomas D. Gelehrter, M.D.
2008 Roger Grekin, M.D.
2007 Mary Ellen A. Hernandez, M.D.
2006 Richard D. Judge, M.D.
2005 James C. Sisson, M.D.
2004 Benedict Lucchesi, M.D., Ph.D.
2003 Kyung Cho, M.D.
2002 Mel Barclay, M.D. and Gerald Abrams, M.D.
2001 Roland (Red) Hiss, M.D.