[an error occurred while processing this directive] Dean | University of Michigan Medical School
Skip Navigation

Kaiser Permanente Awards for Excellence in Teaching

The Office of Medical Student Education in the Medical School solicits nominations by faculty and students for the Kaiser Permanente Awards. The Kaiser Award is the most prestigious teaching award given by the Medical School. Made possible by a grant from the Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, it consists of an honorarium of $1,000 and a certificate which is presented to each awardee at the Graduation Luncheon. Two awards are given each year – one for preclinical and one for clinical teaching.  Faculty and students are asked to consider nominating those outstanding teachers who have demonstrated superior teaching ability; accessibility or willingness to help students more than other teachers; enthusiasm and the ability to generate student enthusiasm; the ability to serve as an exemplary role model; and other traits nominators deem to be important.

After nominations are solicited, those faculty members who are nominated by a number of colleagues or students, or who have particularly compelling nominations, are asked to complete secondary applications. The Medical School Awards Committee will review these applications, select finalists, and make recommendations to the Dean and the Executive Committee for final endorsement.


Any faculty member who teaches in the M1 or M2 portion of the curriculum may be nominated for the preclinical award. Faculty members with major teaching effort in the M3 or M4 years are eligible for nomination for the clinical award. If the faculty member teaches throughout the 4 year curriculum, they may be considered in either or both categories. Please note that former award winners are not eligible for re-nomination (see list below) for either award.

Nomination Process begins on November 11, 2013:

Please return your nomination form to Nani Hunter, Office of Medical Student Education, 3808 Med Sci II, SPC 5608, by December 13, 2013. If you prefer, you may send your nominations electronically by:

For questions about the process email Nani Hunter or call 734-647-2861.


  Preclinical Award Clinical Award
2013 Rachel Lipson Glick, M.D. Jonathan Trobe, M.D.
2012 Michael Hortsch, Ph.D. Michael J. Englesbe, M.D.
2011 Kim Eagle, M.D. Sandro Cinti, M.D.
2010 J. Matthew Velkey, Ph.D. Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, M.D.
2009 Thomas H. Sisson, M.D. Robert W. Lash, M.D.
2008 Rebecca W. Van Dyke, M.D. Vincent M. Cimmino, M.D.
2007 Sun-Kee Kim, Ph.D. Kenneth J. Pituch, M.D.
2006 Roger J. Grekin, M.D. James F. Peggs, M.D.
2005 Thomas D. Gelehrter, M.D. Gilbert R. Upchurch, Jr., M.D.
2004 Ameed Raoof, M.D., Ph.D. Sanjay Saint, M.D., M.P.H.
2003 N. Cary Engleberg, M.D. Douglas Gelb, M.D. Ph.D.
2002 Arno Kumagai, M.D. Michael Shea, M.D.
2001 Louis D’Alecy, Ph.D. Paul Fine, M.D.
2000 Thomas R. Gest, Ph.D. Lisa M. Colletti, M.D.
1999 Michael D. Jibson, M.D., Ph.D. Psychiatry Mel L. Barclay, M.D.
1998 David C. Dawson, Ph.D. John T. Santinga, M.D.
1997 Bruce M. Carlson, M.D., Ph.D. Mark A. McQuillan, M.D.
1996 Andrew J. Zweifler, M.D. David S. Rosen, M.D.
1995 Andrew Flint, M.D. James C. Sisson, M.D.
1994 Paul A. Weinhold, Ph.D. Cyril M. Grum, M.D.
1993 Francis S. Collins, M.D. Robert H. Bartlett, M.D.
1992 Terry J. Bergstrom, M.D. Robert A. Green, M.D.
1991 Don Lowell Fisher, Ph.D. Gerald B. Zelenock, M.D.
1990 Marshal Shlafer, Ph.D. Steven R. Ramsburgh, M.D.
1989 Kent J. Johnson, M.D. Richard D. Judge, M.D.
1988 Walter A. Castelli, Ph.D. Patricia O'Connor, M.D.
1987 Frances E. Bull, M.D. Ralph Rabinovitch, M.D.
1986 Sarah Winans Newman, Ph.D. Hsi-Yen Liu, M.D.
1985 Fedor Medzihradsky, Ph.D. Robert C. Kelsch, M.D.
1984 William Burkel, Ph.D. James E. Rasmussen, M.D.
1983 Garth W. Jones, Ph.D. Donita B. Sullivan, M.D.
1982 Roy A. Glover, Ph.D. Carol A. Kauffman, M.D.
1981 Arthur Vander, M.D. Ananias C. Diokno, M.D.
1980 Irwin Goldstein, Ph.D. Sara E. Walker, M.D.
1979 Thomas Oelrich, Ph.D. Faith Fitzgerald, M.D.
1978 Gerald Abrams, M.D. Paul Kissner, M.D.
Gerald Rigg, M.D.
1977 Roland Hiss, M.D. Errol E. Erlandson, M.D.