Skip Navigation

Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research

The Distinguished Faculty Lectureship, which was first awarded in 1979 to Professor Vincent Massey, continues to be the highest honor bestowed by the Medical School upon a faculty member for research in the biomedical sciences. The recipient of this award is an exceptional leader in research, whose landmark contributions are recognized both nationally and internationally. Their contributions are usually linked to pivotal discoveries that have wide-ranging impact for the advancement of scientific knowledge. The recipient of this award also excels in teaching, mentoring, and service to our institution and to their colleagues in the scientific community at large.

Nature of the Award - The award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize. The winner is honored at a public event hosted by the BMRC which includes an award ceremony, a scientific lecture presented by the award winner, and a reception. The recipient is also honored at the annual Dean’s Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet.

Eligibility - Nominees must be a full professor with their primary appointment in the University of Michigan Medical School which includes faculty from the Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME).  Junior faculty are not eligible for this award; however, they may be eligible for the Basic Science Research Award.

Selection Committee - The Biomedical Research Council (BMRC) reviews nominations and selects the annual recipient of this prestigious award.


Please submit completed nomination packets electronically
in a single PDF document by Wednesday, May 1, 2013 to:

Biomedical Research Council (BMRC)

Please direct any questions to Camille Mrozowski at 734-615-8802 or .


Complete nominations must include the following:

    1. Completed Nomination Form.
    2. A nomination letter (maximum five pages).
      (Please include the following required information in this letter.)
      • A succinct description of the nominee's research accomplishments with special emphasis on the pivotal discoveries that have resulted in fundamental new knowledge in the biosciences. (Details can be explained in the three-page research description.)
      • A review of the nominee's contributions in the areas of teaching and mentoring; including information regarding the current placement of graduate students and post-doctoral fellows.
      • A summation of the nominee's contributions in the area of service (e.g. leadership positions and service on both internal and external committees).
    3. Research description: a summation of the nominee’s research (maximum three pages).
    4. Two or more letters of support from University of Michigan faculty.
    5. Two or more letters of support from outside the University.
    6. The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Previous Nominations – Previous nominations are eligible for consideration.  Please submit previous nomination materials with a newly completed nomination form and a current CV.  Other updated materials will also be accepted.

Please note that e-mail submissions are not error-proof. We will acknowledge receipt of all electronic submissions.  If you do not receive a response from us by the end of the next business day, please call 734-765-8802.



2012 William L. Smith, Ph.D.
2011 Gregory T. Wolf, M.D.
2010 Joel Swanson, Ph.D.
2009 Stephen J. Weiss, M.D.
2008 Gabriel Nuñez, M.D.
2007 Anand Swaroop, Ph.D.
2006 Miriam H. Meisler, Ph.D.
2005 Sally A. Camper, Ph.D.
2004 David Engelke, Ph.D.
2003 Don B. Clewell, Ph.D.
2002 Christin Carter-Su, Ph.D.
2001 Steven L. Kunkel, Ph.D.
2000 Michael A. Marletta, Ph.D.
1999 David Ginsburg, M.D.
1998 Robert L. Macdonald, M.D., Ph.D.
1997 Jack E. Dixon, Ph.D.
1996 William B. Pratt, M.D.
1995 Laurence A. Boxer, M.D.
1994 Rowena G. Matthews, Ph.D.
1993 Wendell W. Weber, Ph.D., M.D.
1992 David E. Kuhl, M.D.
1991 C. William Castor, M.D.
1990 Benedict R. Lucchesi, M.D., Ph.D.
1989 Peter A. Ward, M.D.
1988 Irwin J. Goldstein, Ph.D.
1987 Myron Levine, Ph.D.
1986 Bernard W. Agranoff, M.D.
1985 Frederick C. Neidhardt, Ph.D.
1984 William N. Kelley, M.D.
1983 David Bohr, M.D.
1982 Minor J. Coon, Ph.D.
1981 James V. Neel, M.D., Ph.D.
1980 Rolf Freter, Ph.D.
1979 Vincent Massey, Ph.D.