Skip Navigation

Community Service Award

The Dean’s Office is soliciting nominations for the Community Service Award.  This award recognizes Medical School faculty who contribute to the local, national or global community in an extraordinary fashion.  This award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize for the faculty member or group.

This will be a two-stage selection process.  Nominations submitted to the selection committee will be reviewed and a list of potential awardees given to the Dean of the Medical School.  The Dean will make the final selection. 

Nominees must be faculty of the University of Michigan Medical School.  Nominations are welcome from faculty, staff, and/or students (self-nominations are permitted).  Selection criteria include evidence of substantial and exemplary community service.

Nominations must include the following:

  1. A completed nomination form.
  2. A letter of nomination (maximum five pages).
  3. Letters of support from community groups with which the faculty member (s) work.
  4. A copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Send complete nomination packet by Wednesday, May 1, 2013 to:

James Bell, J.D., C.P.A.
Medical School Chief Administrative Officer
4101 Med Sci I, SPC 5624


2012 Lisa A. Newman, M.D., & Norman D. Hogikyan, M.D., F.A.C.S.
2011 Kevin R. Flaherty, M.D. & Erin L. McKean, M.D.
2010 Carol R. Bradford, M.D.
2009 Phillip E. Rodgers, M.D.
2008 No candidate
2007 Marilyn A. Roubidoux, M.D.
2006 Hari S. Conjeevaram, M.B.B.S.
2005 Sheila Gahagan, M.D.
2004 Brent Williams, M.D.
2003 Virginia Simson Nelson, M.D., M.P.H.
2002 Karin Muraszko, M.D., April Joy Ping, M.D., & Andrew Zweifler, M.D.
2001 Terence A. Joiner, M.D.