Skip Navigation

Basic Science Research Award

This award recognizes a scientist or group of scientists identified as having made outstanding contributions to the Medical School in basic biomedical science research. The award carries a $5,000 discretionary academic support prize given to the faculty member or group.

There is a two-stage selection process. The Biomedical Research Council (BMRC) reviews the nominations and provides a list of potential awardees to the Dean of the Medical School, who makes the final selection. 

Nominees must be in the rank of Assistant or Associate Professor, or Assistant or Associate Research Professor of the University of Michigan Medical School which includes faculty from the Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME). Professors and Research Professors are not eligible for this award. They may be eligible for the Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research.

Complete nominations must include the following:

    1. Completed Nomination Form.
    2. A nomination letter (maximum five pages).
    3. Research description: a summation of the nominee’s research (maximum three pages).
    4. Two or more letters of support from University of Michigan faculty.
    5. A copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae.
    6. One manuscript or abstract reflecting the substance of research achievement.

Previous Nominations:  If a previous nominee still meets the eligibility for this award, you may submit their previous nomination materials by adding a newly completed nomination form and their current CV.  Other updates will also be accepted.


Please submit completed nomination packets electronically
in a single PDF document by Wednesday, May 1, 2013 to:

Steven L. Kunkel, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Research

Please direct any questions to Camille Mrozowski at 734-615-8802 or

Please note that e-mail submissions are not error-proof. We will acknowledge receipt of all electronic submissions.  If you do not receive a response from us by the end of the next business day, please call 734-765-8802.



2012 Jiandie Lin, Ph.D. & Roger Sunahara, Ph.D.
2011 Ming Lei, Ph.D., M.Sc. & X.Z. Shawn Xu, Ph.D.
2010 Noah A. Rosenberg, Ph.D. & Raymond C. Trievel Jr., Ph.D.
2009 Martin G. Myers, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
2008 John J. G. Tesmer, Ph.D.
2007 Gregory R. Dressler, Ph.D. & John V. Moran, Ph.D.
2006 J. Brian Fowlkes, Ph.D. & Jeffrey W. Innis, M.D., Ph.D.
2005 Arul M. Chinnaiyan, M.D., Ph.D. & Ormond A. MacDougald, Ph.D.
2004 Sean Morrison, Ph.D. & David Burke, Ph.D.
2003 Zhaohui Xu, Ph.D.
2002 Sofia Merajver, M.D., Ph.D.
2001 Gabriel Nunez, M.D.