Skip Navigation

Diabetes Interdisciplinary Study Program (DISP) Awardees


The MDRC and the Michigan Comprehensive Diabetes Center (MCDC) jointly funded Jun Hee Lee, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Molecular and Integrative Physiology and Uhn-Soo Cho, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Biologic Chemistry “Biochemical basis for Sestrin2 in metabolism”

The MDRC funded Brian Callaghan, M.D., Assistant Professor, Neurology and Justin Dimick, M.D., M.P.H., Associate Professor, Surgery “The association between the metabolic syndrome and neurologic outcomes in a bariatric surgery population”


The MDRC and the Michigan Comprehensive Diabetes Center (MCDC) jointly funded Steven R. Buchman, M.D., M Haskell Newman Collegiate Professor of Plastic Surgery, Karl J. Jepson, Ph.D., Glacy Family Scholar, Professor, Associate Chair for Research, Orthopaedic Surgery, and Ernestina Schipani, M.D., Ph.D.,Pofessor, Endocrinology “Remediating diabetes-impaired bone fracture with Deferoxamine”


The MCDTR and the Michigan Comprehensive Diabetes Center (MCDC) jointly funded Harold Neighbors, Ph.D., Professor, Health Behavior and Health Education, and Gretchen Piatt, Ph.D., M.P.H., Assistant Professor, Medical Education (DISP), “Oral Health Buddy: A behavioral intervention targeting racial disparities in diabetes and periodontal disease using text-messaging and caregiving”





The MDRTC, the Michigan Comprehensive Diabetes Center (MCDC) and the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research (MICHR) jointly funded Elif Oral, MD, Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine and John D. Birkmeyer, MD, Professor, General Surgery, “Effect of Dietary Macrocomposition on Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease in Bariatric Surgery Candidates”


Annette Chang, MD, Internal Medicine, Metabolism, Endocrinology & Diabetes and Michael Kilbourn, PhD, Radiology, “Evaluation of Human Pancreatic B-cell Mass with [11C] Dihydrotetrabenazine (DTBZ) Radioligand”


Martin G. Myers, MD, Ph.D., Internal Medicine, Metabolism, Endocrinology & Diabetes, and Robert Thompson, Ph.D., Psychiatry, were awarded the MCDC/MDRTC DISP award for “Genomic analysis of novel leptin-regulated neural metabolic pathways.”