Medical Gross Anatomy
Atlas Images

Section of Hippocampus
    The hippocampus consists of the complex interfolded layers of the dentate gyrus (1) and cornu ammonis (2). Their three layered cortex is continuous below with the subiculum (3) which has four, five then six layers as it merges with the parahippocampal gyrus (4).

    5. Lateral geniculate body
    6. Inferior horn of lateral ventricle
    7. Fimbria of fornix