Honors and Awards







John G. Frohna Award for Outstanding Resident Teaching in Medicine-Pediatrics

Dr. John Frohna was the first combined trained Program Director at the University of Michigan from 1997 until 2007. During his directorship he was appointed as president of the Medicine-Pediatrics Program Directors Association (MPPDA). It was during his tenure as Program Director that Dr. Frohna’s leadership and tireless efforts laid the foundation to shape the future of education and training in Medicine-Pediatrics at UM and nationally. To complement his many academic accomplishments, Dr. Frohna was well known for his affability, warmth, and dedication to his residents. He was an outstanding role model and mentor for all of his trainees and encouraged them continually to strive for excellence in teaching and patient care. In honor of his lasting contributions to our Medicine-Pediatrics, we created the John G. Frohna Award for Outstanding Resident Teaching in Medicine-Pediatrics to recognize a Medicine-Pediatrics faculty member who demonstrates excellence in medical knowledge, clinical skills, team management, learner feedback, and mentorship.

Award Winners

Dr. Mark Hakim 2018
Dr. Jason Kahn 2017
Dr. Rebecca Northway 2016
Dr. Sara Platte 2015
Dr. Aaron Daniel 2014
Dr. Jason Kahn 2013
Dr. Pam Davis 2012
Dr. Namita Sachdev 2011
Dr. Linda Balogh







David S. Rosen Award for Humanism

Dr. David Rosen was a true Michigan native. He was born in Detroit and graduated from the University of Michigan Medical School in 1984 as valedictorian of his medical school class. He was trained in Internal Medicine and Pediatrics at St. Louis University prior to completing a fellowship in Adolescent Medicine at the University of Minnesota. Upon completion of his formal training, Dr. Rosen returned home to the University of Michigan where he devoted his professional career to shaping the education of students, residents, fellows, and faculty and treating eating disorders in adolescents.

Dr. Rosen’s impact on the University of Michigan Medicine-Pediatrics Program was equally far reaching. He was instrumental in working with the Departments of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics to select the first combined-trained Program Director, Dr. John Frohna, in 1997 and championed the creation of combined continuity clinics, which remain a cornerstone of the educational experiences our current residents enjoy to this day.

Even more impressive than his professional accomplishments was the exemplary nature of Dr. Rosen’s character. He had an amazing gift to connect with through his innate humanism and sincerity that positively impacted all of those whom he encountered. Unfortunately, Dr. Rosen passed away in February 2013 following an unsuccessful battle with cancer at the age of 54- a tremendous loss to all of our communities.

In honor and memory of Dr. Rosen’s numerous contributions to our Medicine-Pediatrics residents, training program, and our community, we created the David S. Rosen Award for Humanism to recognize a graduating Medicine-Pediatrics resident who embodies the many of the outstanding attributes exemplified by Dr. Rosen: kindness, compassion, humility, and willingness to provide care for patients that will be transformative.

Award Winners

Dr. Madeline Mahowald 2018
Dr. Adrienne Carey 2017
Dr. Jay Flynn 2016
Dr. Dina Hafez 2015
Dr. Jennifer Hasvold 2014
Dr. Jeanne Rittschof