Skip Navigation

Thirteen faculty members inducted into U-M League of Research Excellence

Medals given out to the inductees

A remarkably large number of the faculty of the Metabolism, Endocrinology & Diabetes Division were honored with induction into the Dean's "League of Research Excellence."

The League of Research Excellence is a new program that celebrates U-M Medical School faculty researchers who achieve significant success in their careers during the calendar year. The inaugural group included those who have garnered $1 million or more in research awards or expenditures in 2010.

We are very proud of our world-renowned scientist-physicians, who have made inroads in their respective specialties to heal, prevent and manage endocrine and metabolic diseases such as obesity, diabetes, and the devastating effects of diabetes complications.

The following faculty members were honored in a ceremony and dinner on March 29, 2011:

ernesto bernal and rodica pop-busui Ernesto Bernal-Mizrachi, MD (left) and Rodica
Pop-Busui, MD, PhD (center)

Primary Faculty

Peter Arvan, MD, PhD
Ernesto Bernal-Mizrachi, MD
Charles Burant, MD, PhD
Gary Hammer, MD,PhD
William Herman, MD, MPH
Ronald Koenig, MD, PhD
Martin Myers Jr., MD, PhD
Massimo Pietropaolo, MD
Rodica Pop-Busui, MD, PhD

Secondary Faculty

Malcolm Low, PhD
Ormond MacDougald, PhD
Subramaniam Pennathur, MBBS
Terry Smith, MD