Home | Internal Medicine | UMHS |

University of Michigan
Department of Internal Medicine


The Clinical Excellence Society will recognize in an ongoing fashion those faculty who, by their peers and their division, exude and demonstrate clinical excellence towards their patients and colleagues.


It is certainly my want to recognize outstanding and caring clinicians within the Department of Internal Medicine. In contrast to research grants and papers, teaching evaluations, and national talks, all of which go into academic measurement and is recognized for such, clinical excellence is harder to measure and not as recognized on the academic scale. It is my hope that the initiation of this Society will highlight the importance of clinical excellence, recognize those who live it on a daily basis, and ensure an enduring presence that spotlights this aspect of our tripartite mission of clinical excellence, education, and research.


John M. Carethers, M.D.
John G. Searle Professor and Chair
Department of Internal Medicine




Academiae Laureati Medici - Department of Internal Medicine
Clinical Excellence Society 2016 Inductees

(click to zoom)