Cyril M. Grum, MD
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Medical Education


Schoolís student education programs, with our faculty members teaching more than one-quarter of the entire four-year Medical School curriculum, and occupying key leadership positions in all of the programs.

Each of these professors is deeply committed to the programs they direct and the students they teach. The first year (M1) curriculum is led by Robert Paine III, MD, and the second year (M2) curriculum is directed by Roger Grekin, MD. The third year (M3) and fourth year (M4) curricula are directed by Cyril Grum, MD. Robert Lash, MD is director of the Introduction to the Patient course, which spans both the first and the second years of instruction, and Arno Kumagai, MD heads the Family Centered Experience Program.

At the departmental level, the Core Internal Medicine M3 Clerkship is directed by Dr. Grum. Robert G. Sitrin, MD leads the (M4) Internal Medicine Subinternships.

The Basics: First and Second Years
Changes in the Medical Schoolís curriculum that began with the entering class of 2003 have given students a much stronger grounding in the basic sciences in their first and second years, preparing them better than ever before for their clinical experiences and future careers. At the same time, these students begin to develop their patient-interaction skills through our Standardized Patient Program. First- and second-year students also participate in department-sponsored career seminars, which faculty members encourage and endorse.

Learn While Doing: Third and Fourth Years
For the second year in a row, third-year medical students began their clinical year in May, allowing them to learn from the most experienced residents. The three-month core M3 clerkship in internal medicine includes experience in outpatient settings, where faculty provide intensive guidance and thorough evaluation during their one-on-one interactions with students.

In contrast to the national trend, internal medicine continues to be one of the most popular career choices among University of Michigan Medical School graduates: 17 percent of graduating seniors have matched into Internal Medicine or Medicine/Pediatrics training programs this year.

Global Opportunities
Medical students, even those in their pre-clinical years, have myriad options for international projects and clinical rotations through the Global REACH program headed by our faculty member David Stern, MD, PhD.

Student Awards
For more than 30 years, the Department has presented the William Dodd Robinson Award for Excellence in Internal Medicine in recognition of a graduating senior studentís superb academic performance in the junior medicine clerkship and senior electives in Internal Medicine. This yearís recipient, Adam M. Rogers, exemplifies the highest standards and it is fitting that he should receive this prestigious award named for William Dodd Robinson, who was Chair of the Department from 1958 to 1975.

This year, the Department was very proud to break with tradition and award not one, but three, scholarships to fourth-year medical students who epitomize outstanding academic excellence. This yearís recipients are Bhakti Patel, Helena Yu and Jodi Zilinski. These scholarships, funded by financial contributions from donors including many faculty and alumni of the Department of Internal Medicine, assist with the recipientsí last year of medical school tuition and allow them to pursue their careers in internal medicine with fewer financial constraints.

Beth Manoogian was awarded the Eli G. Rochelson Memorial Award. This award, given annually, is an endowed award that is given by the faculty in the Pulmonary and Critical Care Division, to the graduating senior who best exemplifies excellence in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine.

Faculty and House Officer Teaching Awards
Roger Grekin, MD was awarded the medical schoolís highest teaching award, the Kaiser Permanente Award, for Excellence in Pre-Clinical Teaching. Paul Fine, MD received the Galens Silver Shovel award. John P. Schmidt, MD received the Senior Year Award once again in 2006 from the medical students, as the young clinical faculty member who has upheld the ideals of medical education. Frank C. Brosius III, MD, Cara M. McDonagh, MD, and Rebecca W. Van Dyke, MD received the Medical Student Award for Teaching Excellence from the first- and second-year medical students. The students gave a first-ever Gold Beeper Award to Internal Medicine resident Jessica Slocum, MD, and awarded bronze beepers to Amy Hepper, MD, Mark Huffman, MD, MPH, Terry Platchek, MD, Shelley Schmidt, MD, Susannah Watson, MD, and Scott Visovatti, MD, all for excellence in medical student education.