umhs logo Diabetes Complications Group
University of Michigan Medical School
Home Research Personnel Cores Links Contact



Principal Investigators

  • Eva L. Feldman, M.D., Ph.D., Director of the U-M Center for the Study of Diabetes Complications, Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology, Director of the ALS Clinic, Director of the Program for Neurology Research and Discovery, and Director of the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute.

  • Frank C. Brosius III, M.D., Director of the Diabetic Complications Consortium, Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular & Integrative Physiology, and Chief of the Division of Nephrology.

  • Hosagrahar Jagadish, Ph.D., Bernard A Galler Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and founding member of the Center for Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics.

  • Matthias Kretzler, M.D., Associate Professor of Nephrology, Director of the Michigan Renal Biobank, and Director of the Driving Biological Problem: Diabetic Endorgan Damage in the National Center for Integrative Biomedical Informatics (NCIBI).


Co-Principal Investigator

  • Subramaniam Pennathur, M.D., Assistant Professor of Nephrology and Associate Director of the Biomedical Mass Spectrometry Research Facility in the Department of Pharmacology.



  • Christopher Beecher

  • David M. Lubman

  • Kerby Shedden

  • Peter Woolf


Significant Contributors

  • Peter Arvan

  • Brian Athey

  • Charles Burant

  • William Herman

  • Gilbert Omenn

  • Edward Leiter serves as a Laboratory Consultant.

  • Thomas Werner is the Genomatix Software GmbH Consultant.