Skip Navigation

Dear Fellows Past and Present,

We are pleased to welcome you to the John M. Weller Alumni Society, named in honor of the first Division Chief of Nephrology at the University of Michigan. Dr. Weller served as Division Chief from 1964-1977, and was a pioneer in building the Nephrology Division, the Michigan Kidney Registry, and the Nephrology Training Program at U-M. Naming our Alumni Society after him will tie all the generations of U-M nephrology fellows together, and his dedication and compassion remind us all of why we became nephrologists.

The Alumni Society activities will support our fellowship programs and provide a venue for alumni activities, including information about our annual get-together at the Alumni Society Nephrology, events in Ann Arbor, and updates regarding the Nephrology Division. We are hopeful to engage you more actively in the educational and research missions of the Division of Nephrology by keeping you informed of new programs, educational innovations, and research breakthroughs. For a current snapshot of the Division please visit, Please bookmark our page for the Alumni Society.

Dr. Leslie Rocher is serving as our first President of the Alumni Society. As many of you know, Les was a Resident, Chief Resident and Fellow here at the University of Michigan and ran a very successful transplant program here until he moved to William Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak, Michigan to run the Renal Division and Transplant Program there. Les has been one of the major leaders at this medical powerhouse, having served as Chair of Medicine and currently serving as Senior Vice President for Medical Services, and Corporate Director of Nephrology.

Annual membership dues for the Weller Society are $65. All receipts are used to directly support our fellows. Please consider joining the Society today. To register or pay your annual dues, please click here.

For more information and to sign up and contribute to the Endowed Fellowship fund, please click here.

We look forward to having you join us!


Frank C. Brosius III, M.D.
Professor, Division of Nephrology
Division Chief, Nephrology, 2004-present 

Leslie Rocher, M.D.
President, John M. Weller Alumni Society
Vice President, Medical Services, Beaumont Hospitals
Corp. Director, Nephrology, Beaumont Hospitals

Lawrence B. Holzman, M.D.
Professor, Division of Nephrology
Nephrology Fellowship Director

Roger Wiggins, M.B., B.Chir.
Division Chief, Nephrology, 1988-2004
Professor, Division of Nephrology

Richard Tannen, M.D.
Division Chief, Nephrology 1978-1988
Professor and Vice Dean for Research and Research Training, University of Pennsylvania
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Friedrich Port, M.D., M.S.
Division Chief, Nephrology, 1977-1978
President, Arbor Research Collaborative for Health
Emeritus Professor of Medicine & Epidemiology
University of Michigan Health System

[an error occurred while processing this directive]