Skip Navigation

Research by Faculty

Hsinlin Thomas Cheng, M.D. Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology

Hsinlin Thomas Cheng, M.D. Ph.D., is an Assistant Professor of Neurology. He specializes in both adult Neurology and Pain Medicine. He is also a licensed Medical Acupuncturist. Dr. Cheng treats patients suffered from headache to other neuropathic pain and also practice medical acupuncture at the Back and Pain Center of the University of Michigan.

Dr. Cheng earned his medical degree in 1991 from the Taipei Medical College in Taipei, Taiwan. After completing his doctoral program of Neuroscience in 1996 at the University of Michigan, he did a postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Neurology during the next four years. Dr. Cheng then completed his internship (2001) and residency (2004) in the Department of Neurology at Wayne State University before taking on a clinical fellowship at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and a research fellowship at the Weill Medical College at Cornell University from 2004-06. After he completed his fellowships, Dr. Cheng joined the U-M faculty as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurology.

Dr. Cheng's research interests are in studying the mechanisms of pain. He is funded by the National Institute of Health to study the molecular mechanisms of painful diabetic neuropathy. He has discovered multiple pain molecules activated in an animal model of type 2 diabetes. His research has been published by numerous peer-reviewed scientific journals and reported in many conferences. His findings provide better understanding for the mechanisms of painful diabetic neuropathy and could lead to the development for the future treatments for this devastating disease.

Dr. Cheng is a member of the Society for Neuroscience and the American Pain Society. He is a recipient for a NIH KO8 award. Previously, he was a recipient of a Fellowship Training Grant from the National Cancer Institute from 2004-06, he received a Neuroscience Student Publication Award from the U-M in 1996 and a Travel Award from the American Pain Society in 2005.