Skip Navigation

Headache Medicine Fellowship in Neurology

The University of Michigan Headache Medicine Fellowship is a 1-year United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) accredited program for the diagnosis and treatment of head and face pain.  Training will include the key components of the neurological exam and associated pain and headache syndromes.  Fellows should be able to manage such problems, even when complicated by the presence of other symptoms, complex medical illness, and psychological distress. The Fellow will receive didactics in migraine, cervicogenic headache, cluster headache, and other headache topics.


To provide an appropriate atmosphere and opportunity for fellows to become consultants and practitioners in Headache Medicine, This will encompass a balance between clinical and educational needs.


The program includes:


Rotation Director
Multidisciplinary Pain Center Srinivas Chiravuri, MD
Paul Hilliard, MD
4 Clinic Days
2 Procedure Days
Addition Medicine Herbert Malinoff, MD
Daniel Berland, MD
4 Days
Pain Psychology Kimberly Bialik, PhD 4 Days
Dental/Oral Surgery/Orofacial Pain Clinic Lawrence Ashman, DDS 4 Days
Neurosurgery Parag Patil, MD 4 Days
Ophthalmology Wayne Cornblath, MD 4 Clinic Days
Pediatric Neurology Steven Leber, MD 1 Week
Inpatient Admissions/Consultations Locations TBD 2-4 Weeks


The program requires the fellows to participate in the University of Michigan Neuroscience Day. Neuroscience Day is an annual poster and platform session where neurology and neurosurgery residents an fellows present their scholarly works.

Apply for Fellowship

We are accepting applications for the July 2014 – 2015 academic year. Resident applicants must have completed an ACGME accredited residency program in Neurology.  Training in other specialities will be considered by request.

For consideration, please submit:

Program Requirements - Letter to Applicants

Headache Fellowship Application

Contact Information

Wade Cooper, DO
Director, Headache Medicine Fellowship

Joyce Gordon
Headache Medicine Fellowship Coordinator