Nurse Week 2016

UMHS Nursing in the News

Click arrows to

Patricia HurnPatricia Hurn Becomes School of Nursing Dean




Patricia D. Hurn, PhD, RN will serve as the next dean of the University of Michigan School of Nursing, effective August 1. Dr. Hurn currently is the vice chancellor for research and innovation and executive officer of the University of Texas System. She replaces Dean Kathleen Potempa, who will step down July 31 after 10 years of service.

"Dr. Hurn is an exceptional leader. Drawing on her own experience as a transdisciplinary researcher and teacher, she brings an open and collaborative approach to leadership," says U-M Provost Martha E. Pollack. "Her effective work on key health education concerns - student success, faculty development and translational research - make her the right person to lead the School of Nursing as the university expands its innovative work in interprofessional health education."

Dr. Hurn earned her bachelor's degree in nursing from the University of Florida and a master's degree in nursing at University of Washington. She has a doctorate in physiology from The Johns Hopkins University, where she started.

"I am greatly anticipating the opportunity to move this already outstanding School of Nursing toward even greater scholarship, leadership in health care delivery and innovation in education," says Dr. Hurn.

Dr. Hurn moved to Oregon Health and Science University's School of Medicine, where she served as a professor and vice chair for research in the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, an associate dean for faculty development and faculty affairs, a professor of neurology and physiology, a professor of pharmacology and the founder of the OHSU Research Center for Gender-based Medicine.

At the University of Texas System, she serves as the chief health research officer for the system's six health organizations. She also is a research professor in neurobiology at the University of Texas at Austin's College of Natural Sciences.

She is internationally known for her work in understanding the cellular and molecular basis of gender differences in response to experimental brain injury. Dr. Hurn has been the principal investigator on more than $20 million in grant-supported research as well as the coinvestigator or collaborator on many other research projects.

Her leadership work focuses on collaborative bio-health research models, science education innovation and research technologies. She is an internationally recognized researcher on stroke and other neurological conditions and directs an interdisciplinary research laboratory that conducts biomedical research and applies findings to point-of-care patient applications.

UMHS Nursing Student Clinical PlacementUMHS Nursing Student
Clinical Placement


 If you are planning to advance your degree in nursing (whether to achieve a BSN, MSN, DNP or PhD) and will be looking for a clinical placement at UMHS, there are tools to help you! Please visit our UMHS Clinical Placement website at You will find separate tabs for each type of student - Undergraduate, Graduate and Prospective - which will walk you through the process and assist you with timelines.

If you are a unit or a mentor accommodating undergraduate students, there is a tab for you, too!

You will find:

  • Standards for student placements
  • Information re: student observational requests
  • Mentor resources

Please contact with any questions and we will be happy to assist you.

Daisy Team AwardThe DAISY Team Award



6B/9C Team Award

The DAISY Team Award recognizes that while an idea to achieve better patient and family outcomes may start with one individual, it often takes an entire team to implement successfully. The DAISY Team Award is designed to honor collaboration by two or more people, led by a nurse,who identify and meet patient and/or patient family needs by going above and beyond the traditional role of Nursing. This will be the University of Michigan Health System's first Daisy Team Award! This special award is given to 6B and 9C for the extraordinary care given a patient over the past year!

The Daisy AwardThe Daisy Award

Winnie Wood, RN, CNS

Congratulations to Winnie Wood, RN, Clinical Nurse Specialist for receiving the DAISY award in May! The DAISY Award is given through a nationally known program currently in place in over 2,124 healthcare facilities. DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System and this award was established by a family whose son succumbed to a disease of the immune system. During his prolonged hospital stay, he and his family greatly benefited from care provided by superb RNs. This award was established to honor nurses who exemplify that compassionate, thorough care. Within the University of Michigan Health System, candidates for the Daisy Award are nominated by patients and/or their families. This is a wonderful honor.

UM Nurses Honored: Sigma Theta Tau Excellence Awards 2016

Sigma Theta Tau's, Rho Chapter, is pleased to announce the recipients of the Rho Chapter Sigma Theta Tau Excellence Awards for 2016 The awards ceremony was held April 3rd at the Michigan Union. In addition to the awards, 136 new members were inducted into Rho Chapter at the ceremony!

For a look at photos of this special day, click on the link (no login is required):

Congratulations to this year's Excellence Awards recipients:

Excellence in Nursing Education Jennifer Lee Pesenecker, BSN, RN
Excellence in Nursing Practice Annette M. Sandretto, MSN, ANPBC
Excellence in Nursing Practice Janet Pund, BSN, RN, BC
Excellence in Nursing Practice Robert Wonnacott, MSN, RN
Excellence in Nursing Leadership Louise Grondin, MS, RN
Distinguished Service Janet Holland Tarolli, BSN, RN
Friend of Nursing Patricia Coleman-Burns, PhD, MA
Drickamer Student Mentorship Award Madeline Dahl
Student Leadership Tracey Thiel


Nurse Week 2016What's New in Nurse Recruitment and Retention...

Celebrating Nurses Week 2016! Register Today, Don't Miss Out!



BusUMHS Nurses Week 2016
has had a tremendous response
thus far. Registration is still open
for a variety of opportunities
to expand your knowledge base.


Remaining opportunities still open include:

  • Certification Review Courses
    • Certified Pediatric Nurse
    • Oncology Certified Nurse
    • Adult Medical-Surgical Certification
  • Online Unlimited CE Card
  • Online Certification Review Card
  • Dr Calarco's Grand Rounds
  • Dinner and Pain Lecture
  • Time Sensitive Issues: Stroke, Stemi, Sepsis CE Course (Cammy House-Fancher)
  • Annual UMHS Nursing Poster Days

GlobeNursing at Michigan Influencing the World!

UMHS Nurses: Remember to Enter Your
Professional Contributions


Have you recently completed a manuscript, book chapter, or presentation? Have you received a grant or award? If so, we’d like to hear about it! Please take a few minutes to tell us about your achievement by completing the survey linked below. Nursing Contribution Submissions:

This information will be used to recognize contributions made by UMHS nurses. It will be posted on the external UMHS Nursing Cited Work website (updated quarterly) and will also be included in Marge’s Monthly Nursing Updates, Nursing Services’ annual reports, Nurse’s Week activities, and shared at other appropriate venues. Thank you for your contributions!

School of NursingSee What's New at the U-M School of Nursing
The latest information is now available on the web at:






News Archives | News Archives February 2014 and prior



Target Audience: All | Contact: Kathy Dunnuck, BFA, BSN, RN | Date of last review: 6/2/16